Music, Oldies: The Beatles – Hello, Goodbye (Mandela Effect)

This video did not exist in my original timeline.

You know… Unlike pretty much all of my previous ME posts, this particular video gives me a sick feeling in the pit of the stomach. I feel like I’m looking at dead men, especially in the close-ups of the eyes (like Harrison). I understand that Apple digitized it, but the details and colors are too crisp, the directorial motions / filming angles are all wrong for the era, and the musicians are hardly into their music. I mean, come on! This video originally appeared in 1967! It feels like somebody yanked the Beatles out of their timeline to film it several decades later!

I’ve looked at a couple of other Beatles videos already, and I don’t recognize any of them! I don’t think a video even existed for Strawberry Fields Forever, which is one of my favorite Beatles songs, but it exists now!

Update: If the YT description is correct, this cannot be a legit video. The Ed Sullivan Show from my reality was a LIVE show like Johnny Carson or Jay Leno. (It is described as a vaudeville type show on the Wiki page, which is live theater.) This digitized video is a slick prerecorded music video like you would see on MTV.

Ed Sullivan Show wiki page

Ed Sullivan Show imdb page

Ed Sullivan Show official merchandise page

_____

YT description: The Beatles 1 Video Collection is Out Now. Get your copy here: http://thebeatles1.lnk.to/DeluxeBluRay

When The Beatles began recording what would become their third single to be released in 1967, its working title was ‘Hello, Hello’. The single sat at No.1 in both the UK and America for the first three weeks of 1968.

Paul directed the promotional film for ‘Hello, Goodbye’, remarking later: “Directing a film is something that everyone always wants to get into. It was something I’d always been interested in, until I actually tried it. … There was so much of that going on – so many decisions to be made – that I ended up hating it.”

“I just ran out there: ‘Get a shot of this! Do this for a bit now! Let’s have a shot there! Get a close-up of him! Get the girls on their own! Go back there! Get a wide angle! We’ll edit it, we’ll make it work.’”

The video debuted on the Ed Sullivan Show, Sunday 26 November 1967.

You can find out more and pre-order at http://www.thebeatles.com

Title: The Beatles – Hello, Goodbye (YT link) Uploaded by Beatles VEVO.

Leave a Reply

